Olympians Taiwo and Geubelle recognized along with Junior Olympic all-Americans

The annual USATF Pacific Northwest Awards Banquet was held on Sunday, February 19 at the The Embassy Suites in Tukwila. The banquet celebrated the outstanding accomplishments  by the local athletes in 2016 and also recognized the administrators, officials and contributors who are central to the management of the sport.  The event was emceed by Chris Kunzelman and Ed Viering.
The open athletes that were presented with Athlete of the year awards were:
Track events
  • Casimir Loxsom (Olympic Trials 9th place 800m; USATF Indoor 3rd place 800m)
  • Phoebe Wright  (Olympic Trials 6th place 800m; USATF Indoor 3rd place 800m)
Field events
  • Jeremy Taiwo (Olympic Games 11th place decathlon; Olympic Trials 3rd place decathlon)
  • Andrea Geubelle (Olympic Games 21st place triple jump; Olympic Trials 3rd place triple jump; USATF Indoor 3rd place long jump and 4th place triple jump)
Long Distance Running
  • Joe Gray (World Mountain Running Champs. 1st place, Olympic Trials 76th place marathon
The Youth Athletes of the year were:
Track events
  • Julie Smith (National Junior Olympics 6th place 1500m and 6th place 3000m)
  • Kenyon Andrews  (National Junior Olympics 1st place 800m and 2nd place 1500m)
Field events
  • Chinne Okoronkwo (USATF U20 Championships 2nd place Triple Jump; IAAF U20 Championships 17th place triple jump)

  • Trey Knight (set national record in the 13-14 shot put, National Junior Olympics 1st place shot put and 1st place discus)
Cross Country
  • Ella Borsheim (National Junior Olympics 3rd place; Region 13 1st placce)
  • Cascade Striders (National Junior Olympics boys 13-14 team champions)
Administrators and Officials recognized for their outstanding contributions were:
President’s Award
  • Paul Bodenshot
  • Ed Viering
Ken Foreman Contributor of the Year
  • Darryl Genest
Youth Contributor of the Year
  • Anthony Joseph
Newing Contributor
  • Kenny Emerick 
Mary Reardon Official of the Year
  • Jim Ryan
To view past award winners click here.